11.9 C
Monday, June 14, 2021

Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer Return As West Indies Name Provisional Squad For Upcoming T20Is

Must read

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) choice panel on Tuesday introduced a provisional 18-man squad forward of the three back-to-back five-match T20I collection towards South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan. Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, and Hayden Walsh Jr. return alongside the vast majority of the squad who featured within the 2-1 T20I collection victory towards Sri Lanka in March. “These upcoming T20Is are essential when it comes to our preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup. We’ve got assembled a really stable squad — with skilled world-class match-winners and a few thrilling younger proficient gamers, able to explode onto the worldwide stage and do nice issues for West Indies cricket,” stated Phil Simmons, West Indies head coach in an official assertion.

“We’re at that time the place we’ve got recognized those that we’ll look to be the core of the squad to defend our World Cup title, so we wish to be sure that the upcoming matches create that atmosphere — the best way we prepare, the best way we plan, the best way we execute and the chemistry inside the group.”

“We received 5 years in the past, so the subsequent few weeks and months shall be main stepping stones on the street in direction of defending our title and being World Champions for a 3rd time,” he added.

The provisional squad will quarantine and prepare in St. Lucia forward of the primary T20I collection towards South Africa beginning on June 26 on the Grenada Nationwide Cricket Stadium. The official squad will subsequently be chosen and introduced forward of every collection.

“The Provisional T20I Squad was put along with all T20I House Collection Matches towards South Africa, Australia and Pakistan in thoughts. This offers us the chance to proceed to construct in direction of the upcoming World Cup and to find out our greatest squad and our preferrred eleven,” stated Roger Harper, CWI’s lead selector.


West Indies are the defending T20I World Cup champions and had additionally lifted the title in 2012.

West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Nicholas Pooran (wk), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jnr

Matters talked about on this article

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article